Black Friday

black-friday-shopping-bag-vectorial-design-representing-some-discount-was-inspired-34331463

Shop ’till you drop…or don’t

Lets talk about the obvious elephant in the room today. Black Friday. It’s either something you fully get into, or you cringe about the thought of it. This is something of a tradition for some people. In fact, today, I met several people wearing their annual Black Friday garb. Both were sporting holiday themed sweaters and jewelry. Nothing like truly getting into the spirit of things.

I get the excitement. It’s fun to shop for friend and family and to have that same energy shared by fellow shoppers, there’s nothing quite like it. Plus, there are some pretty decent sales to indulge in and that’s a high in itself I suppose (note Coupon Craze).

My mom and I participated in Black Friday about 3 years ago. I can’t say it was up to the same craziness you hear about on the news, but we got to shop around at the wee hours of the morning. I can’t say we even bought anything of substance either. A few nick-nacks here and there. I still wear my $2.50 necklace I bought from American Eagle. It was fun. A sort of girls night out.

But, it did NOT interrupt our family Thanksgiving. We enjoyed the day together, prepared the meal, ate, drank, and chatted among each other. It seems this celebration is sometimes overshadowed, or even forgotten when sales start Thursday evening and people camp out at store fronts to be the first ones in. There is a feeling of having to rush, beat the crowds, and take advantage of these never again sales. That’s too much pressure for my taste.

I’m glad I experience Black Friday when and where I did. It was fun. But my commitment to it lags. Today, I worked in the retail world on the busiest shopping day of the year. Luckily, our customers are pretty tame (plus we didn’t have any outrageous sales). And while I got my fair share of e-mails, mailings, and sign sightings for deals today, I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmed and rushed to make the sale. And so, after work, I called it quits. Don’t get me wrong, I’m the first at a sale rack. But not today.

Leave a Reply

