Ravioli-Green Bean Lasagna

Food is a big part of my day. I am a muncher. My family calls it grazing, where you just sort of snack here and there throughout the day. People find it funny, doctors say it’s healthy, I just do it. And because of it, I have played around with baking and cooking here and there and I love it.

Now that I am officially fending for myself, homemade dinners everyday can be a challenge. I have those staple recipes I learned from my parents and a few of my own, but that’s a handful of food that can get pretty dull pretty fast. That’s when I pull out my cookbooks and magazine clippings of new found meals to try. Here’s where the real challenge comes in. Menus on a budget AND a time frame (like 30 minutes or less) that’s realistic to pull together after a sporadic work schedule.

This month’s Good Housekeeping arrived in our mail (I think by mistake). I flipped through the articles and spotted several recipes at the tale end of the issue. The headline read, “If you’ve got…cheese ravioli.” I read on. It listed three different meals using cheese ravioli within a 15, 20, and 35 minute time frame. I dog eared the page and pulled out my marketing list.

Guess what we had for dinner last night. Ravioli-Green Bean Lasagna. And it was delicious. Plus, we have some leftovers too (another thing I look for when I cook now as my boyfriend and I both pack lunches for work).

GetAttachment

Ravioli-Green Bean Lasagna

So, if you have ravioli and 35 minutes, here’s what you do/what I did:

Ingredients:

Frozen green beans

Part-skim ricotta cheese

Shredded mozzarella and provolone cheese

Grated Parmesan cheese

Jar of marinara sauce

12 oz. of Italian sausage frozen ravioli

Prep:

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Steam 1 cup frozen green beans by adding 2 tbs of water and microwaving for 2 minutes

Mix 1 cup ricotta, 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella and provolone, and 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese together in a bowl

Assemble:

Pour and spread 1/3 of the marinara sauce in a 9×9 Pyrex baking dish

Pour half of frozen ravioli on top

Spread the ricotta mixture on top

Pour green beans over

Top with the rest of the frozen ravioli

Pour another 1/3 of marinara (you will have some left over in the jar)

Sprinkle shredded mozzarella and provolone, and grated Parmesan cheese to cover the rest of the ravioli

Bake:

Place the dish in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes until the cheese is bubbling and slightly crispy on top.

This fed 2 + leftovers for 2-3 lunches. This was my take to the Good Housekeeping recipe.

Let me know if you bake this dinner and what your thoughts are. Any changes you made or alterations? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

One thought on “Ravioli-Green Bean Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Homemade Ravioli’s For Christmas with Garlic, Basil, Parsley, Parmesan and Ricotta Filling | The Great American Feast

Leave a Reply

