Time

This Sunday has been something of perfection. But it only was that way because I let it be. One of the most difficult things I have had to adapt to is the conflict of schedules and having the time I want to do the things I love and spend the days with the people I love. It’s finding that happy medium to manage those moments of time when you can do those things. But sometimes those moments are not ideal.

For example, my boyfriend and I both had a Sunday off together for the first time in a while. But, there was an important meeting he had to attend in the morning. It was frustrating for me at first. I wanted the entire day with him to myself and when he first suggested I meet them for lunch, I wasn’t exactly interested.

In the grand scheme of things, I realized, this lunch was my chance to spend the time I wanted with him. It was not going to be ‘ideal’ but it was the best we could do. I turned out having a great time socializing with the guests and sitting beside my sweetie the whole afternoon.

To top the day off, we went to the movies in the evening, just he and I. We went to see the new film About Time and the concept of the film directly relates to this sort of lesson I learned today. Each day and moment is what you make of it, and you only get one chance, really, in life to make it your best moment.

The plot is fairly simple and predictable. (Spoiler alert ahead) A man has the gift of time travel passed down to him through generations. He is able to travel back in time to any moment in his life and make settle changes to better suit him. As he develops his ‘talent,’ his father guides him with his best advice and practices. His father told him, live one day like you would normally and the film goes through a mundane day of the mans life. He then travels back in time to the start of that same day, but observes all the things he missed. Basically, taking the time to smell the roses. I love this concept.

Trailer for the film About Time:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2194499/

But it is hard to put to practice. The message and lessons of About Time is that life is special and time is fleeting but it’s how we choose to use it that makes life bearable and hopefully beautiful. I know it’s sort of cheesy and a bit romanticized, but I can’t help but fully relate to this idea, with this afternoon being a perfect example.

So make your time worthwhile this week with the things you love and the people you love, even if it’s not how you might have pictured it. Tell me how you make the most of your time.

2 thoughts on “Time

  1. I’ve been feeling the same way recently about not getting to spend as much time with friends. I had a brilliant year living with two of my favourite people, and now I’m back home with the parents missing a lot. Just have to get used to the fact that things don’t stay the same, and you have to make the best of the time you do have!

    • I’m glad to hear that you are adjusting to the changes in your life. With time and a little practice, I think we will both find our happy medium with time. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

