November Goes Nutty

peanut_butter_lovers_month1

It’s November! You know what that means…

November has proven to be quite the month. Obviously, it’s National Novel Writing and Blog Posting Month. It’s also the month we celebrate Thanksgiving with family and friends and turkey. But did you know, November is also National Peanut Butter Lover’s Month. No joke.

Yep, November has been donned the month where anybody and everybody can express their true appreciation for the crunchy or creamy spread. For me, there is always a jar of peanut butter in the fridge and I use it to create some of my favorite snacks and treats, or just to tide me over. Personally, I feel I give peanut butter it’s credit every time I pop a new jar open, but as November is officially it’s month, I suppose I’ll take a little extra time to express my true gratitude for the mouth watering and nutty staple.

Peanut butter has a long history, first dating back to BC 1000. Peanuts were ground into a sort of past. George Washington Carver gets most of the credit as a sort of inventor for the spread because of his promotion of 300 ways to use peanut butter. Either way, the stuff stuck around and I’m pretty sure we have gone way beyond 300 used for peanut butter.

While I think it’s safe to say most peanut butter lovers agree on how magnificent the creamy goodness is, there is one strong split and that is crunchy vs. creamy. Every person I have talked to about this has had a definitive answer as to which one is preferred. There’s hardly any debate even because they believe in their textured choice. I’m pretty much the same way. I’m crunchy through and through and there is no arguing creamy trumps it.

Adams36oz.Crunchy285

Keep the oil in baby.

I grew up eating Adams Natural Peanut Butter (crunchy). Yeah, that’s the stuff that when you open the jar, there is a layer of oil on top of the peanut butter. The first time my boyfriend used the stuff, he poured the liquid out and spread, what he called, ‘the driest peanut butter in the world,’ onto a piece of toast. The key to making that natural stuff delicious is to blend the oils into the peanut butter. Of course, this is a time consuming, hand cramping, and fairly messy task.

219541

Peanut butter tool!

So, aside from peanut butter being a top invention, the peanut butter mixer is next! My family invested in this tool later than I would have liked, but it’s one of those kitchen tools that once you start using it there is no going back. It’s a lid with a handle on top and a medal hook driven through it. You unscrew the lid of the peanut butter off, replace it with this tool, and stir away, keeping all the oils in the jar and the hand cramping a thing of the past!

Well, now that we can properly prepare our peanut butter, it’s time to list some of those favorite snacks and treats!

Number one of my list is the classic midnight snack. Peanut butter spread on apple slices, preferably granny smith apples. Again, this is a rather time consuming task, but the reward is something delicious.

Peanut butter and jelly, toasted. A classic.

Ants on a log. Well, OK, I really only ever eat the peanut butter spread on celery, but that’s only because it looks too good to wait any longer. I’ll just eat the raisins later.

Peanut butter cookies! This is my specialty. I mastered this cookie using the biggest illustrated children’s cookbook ever (Kids’ First Cookbook). It’s still the recipe I use to this day. Sometimes simple is better.

images

Munch munch munch.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. This was a treat I rarely got, but when I did, I would savor every last bite, popping the inside of the Reese’s out first and eating it before the bordering chocolate part. The fun size are even more dangerous to have around, especially when you keep them in the freezer. A little chill makes all the difference.

A spoon full of peanut butter. I know this sounds kinda grose depending on who you are, but sometimes that’s all I need. It’s one of those things that actually brings a smile to my face when I take a bit and the happy goes all the way down. And it turns out peanut butter (well, more so the actual peanut) is actually pretty good for you. It’s got lots of protein, potassium, and B vitamins. Simple, nutty, salty, cream.

What are some of your peanut butter favorites! Hey, it’s only November 16th! It’s not too late to indulge on the tastiness for the rest of the month. Share how nutty you are for peanut butter and join the club as it is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Month after all!

pbl_logo

Signed with love.

Leave a Reply

